Are Bulgarian Squats Superior to Regular Squats?

for full article and videos click link  Are Bulgarian Squats Superior to Regular Squats?

Here’s what you need to know…

• Some argue that the Bulgarian split squat isn’t a good strength exercise because it doesn’t lend itself to long term progression like bilateral squatting does. Experience, however, suggests otherwise.

• Unilateral and bilateral training aren’t binaries. It’s best to do both and be proficient at both.

• No exercise is irreplaceable. If you can’t do an exercise for whatever reason, don’t force it. Try something else.

• Anyone who thinks single-leg work is “foo foo” probably isn’t very good at it.

Theoretical debates are a waste of time and energy. How about you just try stuff and reach your own conclusions? I’m an informal researcher myself. Instead of a science lab, I do my experimenting in the gym. I conduct my research using dumbbells, power racks, barbells, and real athletes.

Here’s what my real-world experience has taught be about the controversial Bulgarian split squat vs. bilateral squat debate.

Tremendous Potential

Some argue that the Bulgarian split squat isn’t a good strength exercise because it doesn’t lend itself to long-term progression like bilateral squatting does. This sentiment doesn’t jibe with my personal experiences as a coach and a lifter though, so I have to respectfully disagree.

Last summer I made a deal with my athletes that I’d buy lunch at Chipotle for anyone who hit 225 pounds for 5 on Bulgarian split squats. Thankfully for my wallet, only a couple kids cashed in.

I had to take that offer off the table this summer because otherwise I’d have gone broke. I had a group of 21 boys ranging from 15-21 years old and by the end of the summer, every kid in the group had maxed out the 100-pound dumbbells, meaning they were doing at least 200 pounds for 5 reps. Three guys hit 315 for 5!

So based on that, I think there’s tremendous potential for long-term progress, and the ceiling for unilateral leg strength is a lot higher than people think.

Leave a Reply

