My HRV experiment

Over the last two months I have included HRV monitoring into my training program. I have indulged in many different types of weight training to see how it affected my morning HRV. Not really a lot of variation from day to day. I have recently decided to experiment on myself with methods I have contemplated using for some time. I want to see how my morning HRV responds after engaging in specific energy system training.

I am also going to switch between two different dietary philosophies; carb back loading and low carb/paleo.  I have had a great deal success using the carb back load principle developed by Kiefer at Dangerously Hardcore as well as following a low carb/paleo approach. I am going to use each with my training to see if one offers me better results.

 I know this is not the perfect scientific set up but it will give me the anecdotal answers I’m looking for. I was planning on using the same program for two – two week blocks. For week 1, I was going to follow the carb back load principles and week two I was going to follow a low carb approach. Block two was to be a repeat of block one.

I didn’t quit follow that plan. I alternated post training nutrition from carb back load to low carb/paleo each training night.

The results were interesting.

My average normal morning HRV is 72.8 and my HR is 70.

Day 1: Morning HRV 61.1 HR 79. Post training nutrition was carb back loading.

Lactic capacity training (on a Life Fitness bike) –I preformed the following: 5 min warm up followed by  3 sets of 90 second max effort sprints with 120 second rest between each rep, and five minutes rest between each set (all rest was active). On a scale of 1-10 RPE, I scored it a 7. My max HR was 164 and I averaged 141 during the session. My post workout morning HRV was 78.5 – HR 71

Day 2 (two days later): Morning HRV 61 HR 71.3. Post training was low carb.

Lactic capacity training (on a Life Fitness bike) –I preformed the following: 5 min warm up followed by  3 sets of 90 second max effort sprints with 120 second rest between each rep, and five minutes rest between each set (all rest was active). On a scale of 1-10 RPE, I scored it a 7. My max HR was 160 and I averaged 139 during the session. My post workout morning HRV was 59.3 – HR 73.

For the upcoming training week I will again conduct lactic capacity training and I will carb back load. I will also record all the training output info as well: time, distance, RPM’s etc…  I will post the results after each session.

Leave a Reply

